Virtual Master Class for Cyber Diplomacy 2020

In a digitally connected world cybersecurity is crucial. More than ever it is also shaping international relations.

On 2 July the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Estonia will be hosting an open master class on cyber diplomacy. Tune in to our livestream at 15.00 EEST / 14.00 CET / 8.00 am EST on Youtube or Facebook and hear from expert speakers from all over the world.

Agenda (times given in EEST):

  • 15.00- 15.30

Introductory remarks by Amb Heli Tiirmaa Klaar, Estonian MFA
“Agenda for Cyber Diplomacy”

  • 15.30-16.15

Lecture by Dr James Lewis, Center for Strategic and International Studies
“Cyber Stability Framework: Norms of Responsible State Behavior, International Law, CBMs”

  • 16.15-17.00

Lecture by Dr Catherine Lotrionte, Institute for International Cyber Stability
“International Law Applicable to Peacetime Cyber Operations”

  • 17.00-17.45

Lecture by Dr Kubo Mačák, International Committee of the Red Cross
“International Humanitarian Law in Cyberspace”

  • 17.45-18.30

Lecture by Chris Painter, Global Forum for Cyber Expertise
“Cyber Capacity Building: State of Play, Coordination and Challenges”

  • 18.30-18.45

Presentation by Siim Alatalu, EU CyberNet, Estonian Information System Authority
“EU CyberNet  – the European Union Cyber Capacity Building Network”

  • 18.45-19.30

Lecture by Tõnu Tammer, CERT Estonia
“Threats in Cyberspace: how to Prevent, Manage and Recover?”

If you would like to submit a question to any of the speakers, please do so prior to the event by e-mailing cyber.masterclass@mfa.ee.