Travelling to Estonia.

Travelling to Estonia is possible for the following persons

  • Estonian citizens, residents and their family members.
  • Citizens and residents of the European Union, the Schengen area, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican, and individuals with a long-stay visa and their family members if they show no symptoms. Read the list here.
  • Residents of Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, New Zealand, Rwanda, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, if they show no symptoms. 
  • Citizens of foreign states without symptoms arriving in Estonia from states not named above for work or studies. On arrival they are subjects to 14-day restriction on freedom of movement, which means that:
    • the employer or educational institution must provide transport for the employee or student on their arrival in Estonia and ensure that they comply with the 14-day compulsory restriction on freedom of movement;
    • the employer or educational institution ensures that the employee or student undergoes two SARS-CoV-2 tests. The first test must be administered on their arrival and the second on the 14th day after their arrival;
    • the employee and student is not allowed to start working and studying respectively for the first 14 days following their arrival in Estonia;
    • the employee and student can start work and studies respectively from the 15th day since their arrival on the condition that their second coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 test was negative.

Who is subject to restrictions of the freedom of movement?

  • Anyone arriving in Estonia who began their journey from or transited through a country without health data or with an infection rate above 16.
  • Any citizen or resident of Estonia displaying symptoms of illness.

From 1 September, those returning to Estonia from COVID-19 risk countries will have the opportunity to be tested for coronavirus at the airport and port in order to shorten the 14-day restriction on the freedom of movement and allow them to return to work sooner. read more 

Comprehensive information about border crossing, which has been compiled from various government authorities, is available on the site: Information is also provided by the Police and Border Guard Board:

In case you have questions about the entry or quarantine :

If you have an exceptional circumstances (erandid-eritaotluse-vorm)  please send an application for permission to cross the border, directly to the  Police and Border Guard Board

More information about “an order not to open airlines between Estonia and countries with a high-risk number of daily new cases of coronavirus” .(English text after Estonian

More information:

Air travel to and from Israel guidelines 

Questions and answers regarding air travel during the COVID-19 pandemic

A list of Red and Green Locations

*high-risk countries – a country with a coronavirus infection rate of 16 cases per 100 000 people or higher is considered a coronavirus risk country.